Regional Forestry Hubs

The National Forest Industries Plan includes an action to establish Regional Forestry Hubs. There have been 11 regional forestry hubs established across Australia.

The Prime Minister, the Hon Scott Morrison MP, and Senator the Hon. Richard Colbeck, the then Assistant Minister for Agriculture and Water Resources, announced on 16 February 2019 that 9 Regional Forestry Hubs would be established.

  • Each Regional Forestry Hub has existing concentrations of wood supply resources; together with significant existing processing and/or manufacturing operations, established domestic and/or international transport links, and strong potential for growth.
  • Each is being provided with $1.1 million (including GST) over the period to and including 2021–22.
  • Each of the Hubs is working with industry, state and local governments, and other key stakeholders to undertake strategic planning, technical assessments and analyses to support growth in the forest industries in their region.

The Australian Government, in a 2021-22 Budget measure, committed to establishing 2 new Regional Forestry Hubs and extending funding for the 9 existing Regional Forestry Hubs.

  • On 12 May 2021, the then Minister for Agriculture, Drought and Emergency Management, and the then Assistant Minister for Forestry and Fisheries announced that new hubs would be established in the Eden region of New South Wales and the Northern Territory.
  • The Northern Territory and Ord Valley forestry hub was established in August 2021, and the South East New South Wales forestry hub was established in December 2021.
  • Funding for the 9 initial Regional Forestry Hubs is being extended to and including 2024-25.

Featured News & Events

Roadmap to markets

This project report provides a detailed understanding of the specific infrastructure needs for the forestry industry in the Hub area to support it to progress from the growing stage to getting products to markets.